“Do you feel safe out there?”

That’s a question I got asked a couple of times, so I thought it would be worth a post.
Yes, I felt safe while surveying drainage in Mathare. But that’s because I was together with local mappers. The local communities know our work and support us. However, that doesn’t mean it is safe. Looking at the place and date of this report, I was probably just around the corner when these guys were robbed at gunpoint. The same week, a car of gangsters chased by the police rushed through Juja road, firing in the air to make way. With the police executing suspects on the spot, these guys knew they had nothing to loose. Primož was working with mappers at our office located along Juja rd that day. I can’t find a proper report of the event, but I heard the five guys were found dead…

Seeing the level of poverty of these places, it is no surprise to see such a level of crime. We are concerned with security but consider the risks to be “low enough” to continue operating.

In other news, I took some photos of Mathare, which I will post when I get a chance to connect with adequate bandwidth. Tonight, I got to see “Soul Boy”, which was filmed in Kibera. Good movie as far as I can tell. I shall watch it again with subtitles since my kiswahili is far from fluent 😉

One Response to ““Do you feel safe out there?””

  1. John Says:

    Keep having fun (safely!)

    Soul Boy isn’t available in U.S. libraries, but I noticed that there are a few copies in the Netherlands:
    Netherlands AFRIKA-STUDIECENTRUM AS3
    Netherlands BIBLIOTHEEK ARNHEM NLARN
    Netherlands BIBLIOTHEEK MIDDEN-BRABANT NLOBT
    Netherlands BIBLIOTHEEK ROTTERDAM QGR
    Netherlands OPENBARE BIBLIOTHEEK DEN HAAG NLDOB
    Netherlands STADSBIBLIOTHEEK HAARLEM EN OMSTREKEN QHK
    Netherlands ZEEUWSE BIBLIOTHEEK MIDDELBURG QGZ

Leave a Reply

